Welcome!

Message from IOM
for Central Asia

We live in an age of unprecedented human mobility. Migration is considered one of the defining global issues of the early twenty-first century, with more and more people on the move today than at any other point in history

Read more...

Photogallery:
557278_349912728418573_788810623_n 0 0

Emergency and Post-Conflict Activi­ties

Most Central Asian countries are susceptible both to natural and man-made disasters. Environ­mental issues are prevalent in the region, and political instability is a long-standing challenge in the re­gion. In this context, IOM has con­ducted a variety of emergency, post-conflict and disaster risk reduction programmes in the region. IOM’s priorities in this area are as follows:

  • To support stabilization by de­veloping and implementing measures to improve social co­hesion between different ethnic groups, including information counseling and referral services;
  • To improve socio-economic opportunities for populations who are vulnerable to conflict including stateless people, mi­nority ethnic groups and youth;
  • To encourage disaster risk re­duction activities which will minimize environmental risk and associated emergency mi­gration;
  • To improve national capacities to prevent, mitigate and re­spond to natural or man-made emergencies;
  • To be fully involved in pre­paredness activities and in the humanitarian cluster system and to actively work with other organizations to provide assis­tance to migrants and refugees in case of a humanitarian emer­gency.

Emergency and post-conflict activi­ties

IOM is working to improve social cohesion in a variety of different ways. It addresses social cohesion among children by developing and implementing school programmes that support tolerance and con­flict resolution. It also works with local governments, schools and NGO partners to implement these programmes. The programmes in­clude: exchange programmes be­tween schools in different regions, as well as interaction activities between mono-ethnic and multi-ethnic schools and opportunities for interaction between schools and communities. IOM works with the broader community to establish social cohesion through a variety of grassroots activities.

IOM Central Asia’s emergency and post-conflict activities build on strong organizational experience in this area. IOM has experience in both natural disasters such as the Haiti earthquake and the Pakistan floods, as well as man-made disas­ters such as the conflicts in Iraq, Sierra Leone and the Balkans. IOM works with local communities, gov­ernments, education centres and those vulnerable to conflict to ad­dress underlying sources of conflict and provide a seamless transition between post-conflict activities and migration and development pro­grammes.

Disaster risk reduction activities

IOM will work in the field of disas­ter risk reduction with vulnerable populations and local authorities. It will work closely with a variety of partners, including local govern­ments and civil society stakehold­ers. IOM will conduct information campaigns through a variety of me­dia outlets to inform the general population about how to protect against disasters and how to re­duce disaster risk. It will also work to build the capacity of local gov­ernments and authorities through training programmes and assis­tance in infrastructure projects. IOM will also strengthen the capacity of communities to cope with natu­ral disasters and conflicts through training and education about man­agement of emergency situations.

KYRGYZSTAN

Children in Osh and Jalalabad Oblasts.

Violence, riots and clashes between ethnic groups broke out in Osh, Kyrgyzstan, on June 10, 2010, re­sulting in hundreds of deaths and thousands of people left home­less. This instability is the result of long-term tensions between the Kyrgyz and Uzbek ethnic groups in the Ferghana Valley. The tensions arose because of a variety of fac­tors, which include lack of cohesion between ethnic groups in the south, high unemployment and low-quali­ty education.

IOM’s peace-building program will last for 12 months, throughout the year 2011. The objective of the program is to support stabilization in the Ferghana Valley by develop­ing and implementing measures to improve social cohesion among youth and in the educational sys­tem. To achieve this objective, a variety of activities will take place. In the vocational training sector, rural vocational education schools will be provided with up-to-date equipment, teachers will receive tolerance training and employment centres will be set up for vocational training graduates. In the primary education sector, teachers will be provided with tolerance training, schools will receive tolerance and conflict resolution materials and an intensive tolerance program will be conducted at five pilot schools.

The IOM has significant experience in conducting vocational training. In the IOM’s long-standing and highly respected counter-trafficking pro­grammes, victims of trafficking are re-integrated into society through vocational training and education programs. The IOM hopes to build on its expertise and its strong re­lationships with grassroots NGOs in this peace building programme.

Providing legal assistance to peo­ple whose houses are damaged in the south of the Kyrgyz Republic

This 6-month project provides legal assistance to people and families affected by the inter-ethnic clashes which took place in June2010 in the south of the Kyrgyz Republic (Osh and Jalalabad oblasts) through establishing consultation centers in the affected areas. These consul­tation centers are staffed with professional lawyers and no­tary officers who will provide le­gal counseling and assistance to hundreds of families who lost their prop­erties during the inter-ethnic clash­es. Particularly, the families receive assistance in restoring property ownership and identification docu­ments destroyed during the riots. To successfully implement this project IOM has involved its partner NGOs in the south who run hotline and migration resource centers.

 

 

Disaster risk reduction

International Organization for Mi­gration implemented the project “Capacity building of local authori­ties and communities in the areas of Kyrgyzstan affected by natural disasters” within DIPECHO pro­gramme funded by European Com­mission’s Humanitarian Aid Direc­torate General (CHO). The main goal of the project is to reduce the vulnerability of the population in the risky areas, awareness raising, capacity building of local authori­ties in the area of planning and pre­paredness.

Within the framework of the proj­ect, with financial support of the Swiss Cooperation Office, Central Civil Defense Courses have been modernized. IOM has equipped the Training Courses with modern tech­nical equipment in accordance with international standards. IOM has also provided necessary literature, visual aids and training modules.

Information Campaign

Together with NGO partners IOM conducted a broad information campaign in 50 schools in the Kyr­gyz Republic. These schools were located in regions vulnerable to natural disasters. Pupils and teach­ers learn how to behave when a natural disaster occurs, as well as how to render first aid. NGOs to­gether with school administrations, children and their parents conduct non-structural mitigation works, such as fixing furniture and hang­ing items, removing hazards from lighting units and equipment and isolating explosive substances.

Strengthening of co-ordination mechanism among Ministry of Emergency and Scientific Institutes

IOM has supported the initiative to create a Scientific and Technical Council on improving coordination mechanisms between the Minis­try of Emergency Situations, scien­tific institutes and other interested agencies of the Kyrgyz Republic in terms of prevention and relief of emergency situations.

Publications:

Canada Visa Application Centre

Social Media:

Statistics:
 

Рейтинг@Mail.ru

Управление чрезвычайными ситуациями, снижение рисков стихийных бедствий и постконфликтная деятельность в Центральной Азии

Большинство стран Централь­ной Азии подвержены стихий­ным бедствиям и техногенным ка­тастрофам. Также, немаловажной и давней проблемой региона яв­ляется политическая нестабиль­ность. В связи с этим, МОМ реали­зовала множество программ, на­правленных на постконфликтную деятельность, а также на сокраще­ние рисков стихийных бедствий и чрезвычайных ситуаций.

В данной области МОМ работает по следу­ющим приоритетным направлениями:

  • Поддержание стабильности посредством разработки и внедрения мер по укреплению социального взаимодействия между различными этниче­скими группами, включая кон­сультационные услуги и пере­направление;
  • Расширение социально-экономических возможностей населения, подверженного конфликтам, включая лиц без гражданства, этнические мень­шинства и молодежь;
  • Поддержка деятельности по сокращению рисков стихий­ных бедствий в качестве меры снижения негативных послед­ствий экологических ката­строф и связанной с ними вы­нужденной миграции;
  • Повышение национального потенциала в области преду­преждения, снижения рисков и реагирования на стихийные бедствия и техногенные ката­строфы;
  • Осуществление проектов по повышению готовности к чрез­вычайным ситуациям, участие в группах по оказанию гума­нитарной помощи, сотрудни­чество с другими организаци­ями в оказании помощи ми­грантам и беженцам в случае гуманитарной катастрофы.

Чрезвычайные ситуации и пост­конфликтная деятельность

С целью укрепления и продви­жения социальной сплоченности, МОМ использует различные мето­ды и реализует различные меро­приятия на местном уровне.

Для поддержания толерантности и разрешения конфликтов среди детей, совместно с органами мест­ного самоуправления, школами и НПО партнерами разрабатывают­ся и реализуются программы для школ. Они включают деятельность по укреплению взаимодействия между моноэтническими и муль­тиэтническими школами и сооб­ществами, а также создание воз­можностей для подобного взаимо­действия.

Программы по реагированию на чрезвычайные ситуации и пост­конфликтная деятельность МОМ основаны на обширном опы­те организации в этой области. МОМ имеет богатый опыт работы в регионах, пострадавших от сти­хийных бедствий, таких как зем­летрясение в Гаити и наводнения в Пакистане. Также, МОМ реали­зовывала постконфликтные про­граммы в Ираке, Сьерра-Леоне и Балканах. С целью искорене­ния причин конфликтов и обе­спечения плавного перехода от постконфликтной деятельности к программам по развитию, МОМ тесно сотрудничает с органами местного самоуправления, Пра­вительствами и образовательны­ми учреждениями.

Проекты по снижению рисков сти­хийных бедствий

В тесном сотрудничестве с орга­нами местного самоуправления и гражданским сектором, МОМ про­должит свою деятельность в обла­сти снижения рисков стихийных бедствий. С привлечением средств массовой информации, будут про­водиться информационные кам­пании для населения о способах защиты и сокращении рисков сти­хийных бедствий. Посредством проведения обучающих меропри­ятий по снижению рисков чрезвы­чайных ситуаций, стихийных бед­ствий и конфликтов, а также ре­ализации проектов по развитию инфрастуктуры, будет повышать­ся потенциал правительства, ор­ганов местного самоуправления и сообществ.

Построение мира среди молодежи и детей Ошской и Джалалабадской об­ластей

Межэтнические столкновения в г. Ош на юге Кыргызстана в июне 2010 года, повлекли гибель сотен людей; тысячи остались без крова. Нарастающая го­дами межэтническая напряженность между кыргызами и узбеками в Фер­ганской Долине, вылилась в конфликт . Причиной противостояния послужи­ло множество факторов, включая от­сутствие сплоченности между этниче­скими группами на юге, высокий уро­вень безработицы и низкий уровень образования населения.

Программа МОМ по построению мира среди молодежи будет осущест­вляться в течение 2011 года. Ее цель заключается в построении мира и стабильности в Ферганской Долине путем разработки и внедрения мер по укреплению социальной спло­ченности среди молодежи, а также в образовательной системе. Для этого будет реализован ряд мероприятий. Профтехучилища в сельской мест­ности будут обеспечены современ­ным оборудованием, преподаватели пройдут тренинги по толерантности, а также будут организованы центры по трудоустройству выпускников про­фтехучилищ. В пяти пилотных школах будут реализованы интенсивные про­граммы по толерантности.

У МОМ имеется значительный опыт в организации профессиональной подготовки. В рамках программы по противодействию торговле людьми, на протяжении многих лет МОМ ока­зывает реинтеграционную помощь жертвам торговли людьми через обра­зовательные программы и организа­цию профессионально-технического обучения для пострадавших от рабо­торговли. В рамках программы по по­строению мира, МОМ будет опираться на свой опыт в данной сфере, а также на партнерство с неправительствен­ными организациями.

Оказание юридической помощи на­селению юга Кыргызской Республики

Данный шестимесячный проект на­правлен на оказание юридической помощи (создание консультационных центров) жителям Ошской и Джалал-абадской областей, пострадавшим в ходе межэтнических столкновений на юге Кыргызской Республики. Про­фессиональные юристы и нотариусы будут предоставлять юридические консультации и услуги сотням семей, потерявшим имущество во время ме­жэтнического конфликта. В частности, семьям будет оказана помощь в вос­становлении испорченных и утерян­ных во время беспорядков докумен­тов, удостоверяющих личность и под­тверждающих право собственности. Для успешной реализации данного проекта, МОМ будет привлекать НПО партнеров, работающих на Горячих линиях и в Центрах содействия ми­грантам.

Снижение рисков стихийных бед­ствий

В рамках программы DIPECHO при финансовой поддержке ECHO – Де­партамента Европейской Комиссии по оказанию гуманитарной помощи, МОМ реализовала проект по повыше­нию потенциала сообществ и органов местного самоуправления в регионах, подверженных стихийным бедствиям. Основная цель проекта – сокращение уязвимости населения, проживающе­го в опасных зонах, повышение осве­домленности, укрепление потенциала органов местного самоуправления в области планирования и подготовки к чрезвычайным ситуациям.

При финансовой поддержке Швей­царского Бюро по сотрудничеству, МОМ оказала содействие Министер­ству чрезвычайных ситуаций Кыргыз­ской Республики в создании Учебного центра подготовки к ЧС на базе Цен­тральных курсов гражданской защиты при МЧС КР. Учебный центр был осна­щен современным оборудованием, соответствующим международным стандартам, необходимой литерату­рой, дидактическими материалами и учебными пособиями.

Информационная кампания

В тесном партнерстве с неправитель­ственными организациями, МОМ про­вела обширную информационную кампанию в 50 школах Кыргызской Республики, расположенных в зонах, подверженных риску стихийных бед­ствий. Ученики и учителя обучились правилам поведения при возникно­вении стихийных бедствий и навыкам оказания первой доврачебной помо­щи. НПО совместно со школьными администрациями, учениками и их родителями провели митигационные мероприятия по устранению неструк­турного риска – фиксирование мебе­ли и висящих предметов, устранение риска от осветительных приборов и оборудования, а также изолирование взрывоопасных веществ.

Создание координационного меха­низма между Министерством чрезвы­чайных ситуаций и научными инсти­тутами

МОМ поддержала инициативу созда­ния научно-технического совета по укреплению координации в области предотвращения и реагирования на чрезвычайные ситуации между МЧС КР, научными институтами и други­ми заинтересованными ведомствами Кыргызской Республики.

Публикации:

Канадский визовый центр

Cоциальные сети:

Статистика сайта:
 

Рейтинг@Mail.ru